From the heart

This is an off-topic post, but as it is Valentine’s Day I figured it would be appropriate to talk about hearts.

You might remember a post from April last year, in which I likened the struggle of getting employers to create student work placements, to the struggle which the NHS has to get people to sign up for blood and organ donation. We (almost) all seem to agree that it makes sense to do this, but somehow we don’t do it.

Well I was very pleased with myself for having signed up straight away as a blood donor, and will soon be making my third donation. I could have done this many years ago but somehow didn’t, so there’s no particular reason for me to feel proud or smug. Anyway, better late than never.

On Wednesday evening ITV aired a programme called “From the heart“, looking at the staggering statistics associated with people waiting for an organ to be donated.OrganDonation

I don’t need to explain it in detail, but in summary:

  • A life can be transformed when an organ is transplanted – there just aren’t enough donors, and many people die whilst waiting. Three people die every day whilst waiting.
  • It can be tremendously comforting to a bereaved family, to know that someone else has benefited from their loss.

For more than an hour I watched as families caught up in this entire nightmare talked of their long, often futile wait. It was very moving, touching and real.

Earlier in the day I had looked at an email from LinkedIn congratulating me on having one of the top 5% most viewed LinkedIn profiles (with LinkedIn having 200 million users, that makes me one of 10 million). I had marvelled at the figures. And then I learned that there are today 7,423 people awaiting transplants.

We never know what is round the next corner, coming at us. I know that if anyone in my family needed an organ transplant, I would be absolutely desperate. You might feel the same. So what stops us?

One person can save NINE lives by being a donor. It’s not difficult. Wherever you are, whoever you are, tick the box – now. Please. I did. Thank you.

______________

Feel free to comment on this post – I’d be interested to hear your views.
Inixiti – Improving graduate employability. Click here to visit the website.

Leave a Reply

